Where we work

Map of MFF countries

Map of MFF countries © MFF

Member Countries  

Bangladesh, CambodiaIndia, Indonesia, Maldives, Myanmar, Pakistan, Seychelles, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Viet Nam

MFF builds on a history of coastal management interventions before and after the 2004 Indian Ocean tsunami. It initially focused on the countries that were worst affected by the tsunami -- India, Indonesia, Maldives, Seychelles, Sri Lanka and Thailand. More recently it has expanded to include Bangladesh, Cambodia, Myanmar, Pakistan and Viet Nam.

Visit each country page by clicking on the links above.

Outreach Countries 


MFF extends support to other Asian countries for which poverty, vulnerability to natural disasters and climate change are major concerns. These countries are invited to participate in MFF regional events as well as attending the Regional Steering Committee meetings as an observer. Currently, Malaysia is an MFF outreach country.

Dialogue Countries 

Kenya, Tanzania

MFF engages with other countries and regions to promote an integrated ocean-wide approach to coastal resources management. MFF provides dialogue countries with information and advice on coastal issues, encourages them to participate in MFF regional events, but does not provide financial assistance directly. Besides the current dialogue countries of Kenya and Tanzania, MFF is also advising countries in other regions, such as East and Southern Africa, and the Pacific, on replicating the MFF approach.

Share this page